减少病害侵染的作用

大量研究发现,母乳喂养能降低小儿传染疾病的风险,使风险可以降低50%。更多的研究表明,人乳寡糖是能有效降低疾病传染风险的主要原因。

人乳寡糖降低病害的机理如今已被很好地认识。它是一种简单但是高效的机制。当病菌识别人体为寄主,开始侵染人体时,人乳寡糖可以直接干扰病菌对人体的识别,从而抑制病菌的侵染。

病菌一般与在人体细胞表面的特定结构连结,并开始侵染。这些表面结构对人体功能有很重要的作用,比如免疫系统,细胞与细胞间的交流传递,血型的确定。病 菌,比如细菌和病毒,利用这些结构确认人体为寄主,试图进入人体细胞,并开始侵染。超过70%的人体病菌利用在细胞表面的寡糖结构为受体或者共受体开始侵 染过程。

溶解在食物中的人乳寡糖可以效仿这些表面的寡糖结构,并且对病菌充当引诱物。病菌不能分辨人乳寡糖和细胞膜表面的寡糖结构。因 此,当病菌进入人体内,并与这些人乳寡糖结构连结。因为这种连结具有不可逆转性,所以病菌不能再与细胞表面的寡糖结构连结。这样,这些病菌与不可消化的人 乳寡糖被一起排出体外,从而病菌侵染人体的风险也被降低。

大多数病菌通过消化道或是呼吸系统进入人体。当人乳寡糖和食物一起被食入体内, 这些寡糖在消化道中的含量会升高。人乳寡糖也同时会被大肠吸收,进入血液,在人体内循环。这样,这些寡糖就可以对整个人体起到保健的作用,这也就是被熟知 的糖类的系统效应。这种系统效应可以解释人乳寡糖是如何保护一些离人体肠道区域较远的器官,比如肺,大脑和听道。

Reduction of Infection Risks

Studies have shown that breastfeeding reduces the risk of infectious diseases in children by up to 50 percent. Additional studies suggest that human milk oligosaccharides contribute significantly to reducing this risk.

The simple but highly effective mechanism of action used by human milk oligosaccharides is very well understood. Human milk oligosaccharides intervene directly in the ability of pathogens to recognize the human body as a host and thereby trigger an infection.

Pathogens mostly initiate an infection by binding to specific structures present on the surface of human cells. These surface-bound structures are vital to certain body functions, such as the immune system, cell to cell communication, or the specification of blood groups. Pathogens, including bacteria and viruses, use these surface-bound structures as receptors to identify their host as human and to gain entry into the cell and thereby trigger an infection. It is believed that over 70% off all human pathogens use cell standing oligosaccharide structures as receptor or co-receptor for their infection.

Human milk oligosaccharides dissolved in food imitate these surface-bound structures and therefore act as decoys. Pathogens cannot distinguish between human milk oligosaccharides and genuine surface-bound structures on the cell membrane. Pathogens entering the body therefore bind to the human milk oligosaccharides, and this irreversible process makes it impossible for the pathogen to subsequently bind to cells because the structures that interact with the receptors are already blocked. The pathogens are therefore excreted together with the indigestible human milk oligosaccharides and the risk of infection is reduced.

Most pathogens enter the body through the digestive tract or the respiratory system. Because human milk oligosaccharides are ingested with food, the sugars are present in high concentrations in the digestive tract. However, human milk oligosaccharides can also be absorbed in the gut so they pass into the blood stream and circulate around the body. This means the sugars can exert their healthy effect all over the body, which is known as a systemic effect, and may explain how they can protect against infections in areas of the body far away from the gut such as the lungs, the brain, and the auditory canal.